Food & Nutrition Services

National School Lunch Program

  • The National School Lunch Program is a federally assisted meal program operating in public and nonprofit private schools and residential child care institutions. It provides nutritionally balanced, low-cost or free lunches to children each school day. The program was established under the National School Lunch Act, signed by President Harry Truman in 1946. More information can be found here:

National School Breakfast Program

  • Breakfast is FREE for all students at all Manatee County District Schools

    The School Breakfast Program provides cash assistance to states to operate nonprofit breakfast programs in schools and residential childcare institutions. The Food and Nutrition service administers the SBP at the Federal level. State education agencies administer the SBP at the state level, and local school food authorities operate the Program in schools. More information can be found here:

Community Eligibility Program

  • This year 24 school sites are participating in a program called Community Eligibility Program or CEP. 

    The Community Eligibility Program (CEP) provides an alternative approach for offering school meals to local schools and schools based on former free & reduced student numbers, instead of collecting individual applications for free and reduced price meals. 

    What this means is that all students at the schools listed below will receive free breakfast and lunch.   

    Participating Schools:

    • Abel Elementary                                                                         
    • Ballard Elementary                                   
    • Bayshore Elementary                                                                         
    • Bayshore High                                          
    • Blackburn Elementary                              
    • Daughtrey Elementary                             
    • Horizons Academy
    • Just for Girls Academy                                         
    • Lee Middle                                                                                       
    • Manatee Elementary                                 
    • Moody Elementary
    • Oasis Middle 
    • Oneco Elementary
    • Palm View Elementary 
    • Palmetto Elementary
    • Prine Elementary    
    • Rogers Garden Elementary
    • Samoset Elementary
    • Sea Breeze Elementary
    • Southeast High
    • Sugg Middle
    • Tillman Elementary
    • Visible Men Academy (VMA)


    If you have any questions please call us at 941-739-5700