Return to Headlines

School Board Recognition: Johnson named Program Administrator of the Year

A longtime educator is representing Manatee County on the national stage for supporting students, teachers, schools and families.


Megan Johnson, Title I Coordinator, was nominated by her peers at FASFEPA (Florida Association of State and Federal Educational Program Administrators) for a NAFEPA (National Association of State and Federal Education Program Administrators) State Leadership Award.


Megan Johnson (left) with Superintendent Cynthia Saunders (right) during the January 10th School Board Meeting


NAFEPA will honor recipients from across the nation in Washington, D.C. during a conference in March.


Johnson is a former elementary school teacher, who held various leadership positions, before joining Manatee County’s Federal Programs and Grants Department in 2014.


She oversees $13 million in grant funding for schools with high percentages of children from low-income families.


Her position requires diligence in federal laws and regulations; collaboration with nearly every department within the school district; and connecting with the families served in our community.


“The work we do is often behind-the-scenes and goes unnoticed,” said Johnson, “but to have my peers across the state recognize my professionalism and commitment, as I support other administrators in the field and the programs that help our schools and district, is humbling to say the least.”


She is also thankful to her colleagues/team, “we work together to make a difference in the lives of our students, and there is no greater honor than that.”


Here's a video from the January 10th School Board Recognition: 





Megan Johnson received a State Leadership Award during the NAFEPA Conference in Washington, D.C., on March 27, 2023. Congratulations, Megan!