2018-19 School Year

2017-18 School Year


    In the midst of an unprecedented population boom, Manatee County citizens voted in 2002 to approve a half-cent sales tax increase to help pay for school district capital needs including construction of new schools. Between 2002 and 2015, funding from the half-cent sales tax helped build 11 brand new schools and totally rebuild 8 existing schools. With the half-cent sales tax set to expire in 2017, Manatee County citizens approved a renewal of the half-cent sales tax for school district capital needs on November 8, 2016. In August 2019, three more schools opened – Barbara A. Harvey Elementary, Dr. Mona Jain Middle and Parrish Community High – bringing the total to 22 new schools (view list here).