MANATEE VIRTUAL SCHOOL (MVS) POLICIES / PROCEDURES
Because MVS uses the Florida Virtual School Framework and curriculum, all students must adhere to the MVS policies and procedures as well as those of the School District of Manatee County. All students and parents must agree to these at the creation of an account and during the course selection process. Click here to view FLVS rules regarding course withdrawal, code of conduct, academic integrity, grading, privacy, etc.
In addition, all Full Time students must adhere to the Manatee County Virtual School Policies.
Before continuing, please read the Admissions and Eligibility Requirements to enroll as an MVS Full Time Student. It is critical to know if the student meets the qualifications.
Any student taking an MVS class must adhere to the following rules and regulations as per the School District of Manatee County.
- Students scheduled into a classroom for an MVS virtual class during the school day will be required to attend each class (Homeschoolers exempt).
- There is a 20 day window to show adequate progress in virtual course.
- Students understand and agree that they must have attempted, completed, and passed their first Discussion Based Assessment (DBA) no later than the 20 day grace period. If they do not attempt or fail their 1st DBA within this time period, they will be removed from the virtual class and scheduled back in a school classroom.
- Students may attempt a 1/2 credit AP (if available) course in the Spring ONLY (not the fall).
- Advanced, Honors, or AP versions of a class may not be changed after the class has commenced.
- Students may take the second semester of a course that requires an EOC (End of Course Exam) only in the Spring of the school year.
- Seniors must complete their virtual classes on a date to be determined by the MVS program. That date is usually 2 to 3 weeks prior to the last day of school for underclassmen. The completion date will be clearly stated to the student and parent by the virtual teacher.
- If a student fails the Fall semester of a 2 semester course, he/she will not be permitted to take a Spring semester course in the same year.
- There are no extensions permitted at the end of the school year. If students do not complete work according to the district school year calendar, they will receive a failing grade for the course.
MVS and the Florida Virtual School set high expectations for the success of its students and are committed to meeting the needs of all students. To maintain instructional momentum, students are required to submit assignments in their course on a weekly basis and to maintain regular contact with their instructors.
Any student who does not make progress in a course for a period of 14 days and has not made prior arrangements with his/her instructor, will be referred to the MVS administration to reconnect the student with the course instructor.
Failure to respond to the MVS administration's contacts, or failure to adhere to the Progression Plan by Manatee County may result in administrative removal from the course with an F grade.
Each Manatee County student must follow the Student Progression plan which explains promotion, credits, graduation requirements etc. The Student Progression Plan can be found here.
During registration in MVS, students acknowledge that during the first 28 days of being activated into an MVS/FLVS course, they may drop the course without penalty. For each online course there are a minimum number of assignments that must be completed each week. Failure to submit the minimum number of assignments on a weekly basis will result in withdrawal from the course and may result in a failing grade on the academic transcript. If a student is withdrawn from the course after completing 50% of the class requirements, MVS will issue an "F" for the final grade.
MVS follows the district calendar. This means that students must complete their MVS coursework by the date designated in the Manatee County school calendar.